The amazing horse rescue… and other distractions in an author’s life

Hooray, it’s February and Amazon Australia has decided AGAIN to promote How To Survive Your Sisters, Looking For La La and To Catch A Creeper.   Also Amazon UK is also doing a 99 pence sale with Sisters.  Pam and I are busy with Twitter and Facebook, trying to spread the word. And I’ve been nominated to update the blog.

So once again the day is sliding away from me.   Admittedly I sometimes have a little trouble with time management.  There may be two of us writing, but at least one of us can always find a million distractions.

1503825_10100778876911739_8510128431740271215_nSeriously intended to write beaucoup pages this weekend until I had an emergency call telling me to bring my horse trailer because 23 horses had to be rescued from feed lot before they were shipped to a kill auction.

1964793_10100778877490579_6866542196854390963_nOf course same estimated 2 hour rescue operation turned out to occupy 3 days, including repairing fences in temporary field, and moving horses yet again two days later. Great sense of personal satisfaction but not a lot of time left for writing. And yes, now that they’re safely installed at Zumas Rescue Ranch they will need training…and homes.268531_10100778877460639_5325315518308154703_n

My own lovely horses are galloping around, just outside the window, playing in the snow. Is there any sight more beautiful than that? What, you expect me to be staring at a computer screen? It’s all I can do not to run out there and join them. Besides it’s imperative I watch and see no one gets kicked.IMG_3466

Long, long phone conversation – all work-related of course – with writing partner, Pam, who has finished for the day, thanks to 7 hour time difference, and is probably sitting with feet up and a glass of wine. Well, actually she claims she’s working like a dog till midnight, answering our chicklit sisters email, and contacting promo sites for our future book launch. But then sometimes I’m incredibly productive too.  I remember there was that time back in…

I need to check my email, Facebook and Twitter and then Google something amazingly trivial.  By the time I load up tweetdeck, pick up a package from the post office, (hopefully the saddle I bought on ebay) and drive to the ranch store for horse feed, I’ll be lucky to get any words on pages, except perhaps for this long overdue post.

IMG_3461Remy, the wonder dog, wants to go for walk. And I did make that resolution about keeping fit. 10,000 steps, I think it was.   Probably got another 9,400 to go. Besides I do have those errands to run.

Cat keeps walking all over the computer keyboard, demanding to be petted. Which reminds me her litter box needs cleaning.IMG_3381

The kitchen is a mess. And while I am tidying it, I might as well have a snack/lunch/coffee/tea.

The laundry basket is overflowing.   I’ll be able to concentrate much better without that nudging persistently at the back of my mind.

The feed tubs and water tanks absolutely HAVE to be filled before it freezes tonight. Likewise the chicken’s water.   And there’s manure to scoop. Might as well start feeding all the animals now.

Husband arrives home early, wanting to know what’s for dinner. (Good question.) And why I’m eternally tapping on the computer, filling up Buffer, and ignoring him. Must be time for a glass of wine. And maybe an early night, yawn, yawn. After all I did get up at 5.30 so I could cram it all in.   Just let me quickly check this one thing on Google.

Oops, it’s midnight. And I didn’t even ride my horse or get a useable paragraph out of the day. But seriously intend to write beaucoup pages tomorrow…

Given my ability to procrastinate, it’s frankly amazing that we actually have a new novel, Million Dollar Question, coming out this year – and you’ll hear more about that soon, I promise.

But all that said, the good news is that three of our books are once again rapidly rising up the Australian Amazon charts…  Will they do as well as last time?  We have our fingers crossed…  Ah, well back to Twitter.

Cheers,

Lorraine Signature

One response to “The amazing horse rescue… and other distractions in an author’s life

  1. I bet your books are raising up the charts they look great I hope to read one soon

    Like

Leave a Reply

